Get Your ACLS Certification or Recertification in the Best ACLS Class in San Diego County [ 0 Comments ] [ June 23, 2016 ]

Whether you are a seasoned veteran of medical practice or a student preparing to enter the field, ACLS certificate is something you most certainly need to have. The best ACLS class San Diego County boasts can be found at the Advanced Healthcare Education facilities fairly easily, as there are five convenient locations all over the county. All the facilities are authorized by the American Heart Association (AHA) as training centers.

What Is It?

Just to recap briefly, ACLS stands for Advanced Cardiovascular Life Support. Unlike the BLS (Basic Life Support), which is open to anyone who wants to learn it, ACLS is more oriented towards the medical professionals, such as paramedics, nurses, physicians, medical professionals working in specific environments, such as emergency departments, intensive care units, etc. It is also necessary for medical students, who intend to pursue a career in healthcare.

When Is It Applied?

It is used with patients with cardiopulmonary issues, such as stroke, cardiac arrest, or other events, both in and outside a hospital environment. The main goal of ACLS, as well as BLS is to provide a timely and effective support to the victims of cardiopulmonary failures to increase the likelihood of survival. The key difference between the BLS and the ACLS is that ACLS practitioners may continue giving support to the victim in a hospital environment as well.

What Does This Class Teach?

The first thing that is briefly covered is the recap of BLS, as the ACLS is an extension of the former. Aside from that, a proper team dynamics is taught, as it is essential for the optimal performance of medical professionals.

Some of the skills acquired in this course are as follows.

  • Oxygenation or Emergency ventilation – How to recognize cases of respiratory failure or respiratory arrest and how to deal with them. Types of assisted ventilation are taught, as well as when and how to apply them.
  • Primary ventricular fibrillation – How to recognize this unpredictable arrhythmia and how to prevent it from resulting in full-blown cardiac arrest and ultimately death.
  • Secondary ventricular fibrillation – This arrhythmia occurs within 24 hours of a coronary event. You will be taught how to recognize this recurrence of ventricular fibrillation, and how to fight it.
  • Asystole and pauses – Better known as flatline to anyone outside the medical profession, asystole is the absence of myocardic contraction. In this class you are taught to recognize the difference between sinus pause and asystole and the proper reaction to both.
  • Bradycardia and AV blocks – Recognizing decreased heart rate is crucial to treating it, especially since it tends to be asymptomatic in its milder form, above 50 beats per minute. Similarly, AV blocking may seem innocuous at first, but not treating it could cause major health problems.
  • Stable Tachycardis – Opposite of bradycardia is tachycardia, the increase of normal heart rate to over 100 beats per minute. Stable tachycardia is considered less dangerous, but should not be disregarded, and you will be taught how to recognize and cope with this problem.
  • Unstable Tachycardis – The more dangerous of the two, unstable tachycardia is associated with higher risk of sudden cardiac arrest and death. It is essential to be able to recognize it and treat it in a timely manner.
  • Pulseless electrical activity – The electrical activity is generated by the heart, but it does not lead to a pulse. You will learn the methods of recognizing and treating this condition immediately, until the underlying source is discovered.
  • Special resuscitation situations – Patients who are in specific situations may require some resuscitation methods different than usual. You will be informed on what those are and when they are applied.
  • Acute coronary syndromes – A group of coronary illnesses which cause the heart to decrease in function and ultimately fail. You learn to identify them, recognize their underlying condition and treat them immediately.
  • Stroke – The most commonly known vascular infarction, this one affects the brain. This class teaches you to recognize the symptoms, and to treat it properly.
  • Ethics, medical faculty, advanced directives – Known to all medical professionals, this part of the course deals with the ethical implications of treating patients, as well as some legal terminology which enables caregivers to take the best care of the patients, as well as respect their wishes.

Why Do I Need To Take This Class?

As a medical professional, you need to have the certificate of ACLS. If you are new to the field, you will have to pass it for the first time. If, however, you are a seasoned professional, you will still have to recertify from time to time. Whichever of the two groups you belong to, ACLS class in San Diego County AHE training facilities can cater to your needs. Contact us for further information.